Managing the 68 Hour Work Week – Get Your Priorities Right

68hourworkweekSince 2011 or so, I do not recall ever working less than 2 jobs.

When I first moved back to New York and tried to hack it on my own I worked the sales desk at Golds Gym, and shortly after picked up a personal training gig with Synergy, and continued to freelance on a regular basis. At the same time I trained 5-6 days a week, close to 2 hours a day.

Early 2012 I started powerlifting, a never looked back.

The most common question I am asked is

How do you manage everything?

I train anytime between 9pm and 11:30pm, my sessions have ran into 1am or later before. I have a day job from 9-6, I work with Chaos and Pain another 23 hours (at a minimum) every week. I love what I do. Maybe I can be called a workaholic.

Really, I have my priorities right.

Everyone has the same 24 hours a day. That’s 168 hours a week. The secret to managing a crazy schedule is getting your priorities right and working backwards. If you’re thinking to yourself Yeah I’ve done this before, and it didn’t stick? Yeah, you’re not trying hard enough.

The equation

Start with the basics, what has to stay and what has to go? Here’s my equation:

168 – [68+(2*5)] – [(2*3)+(1.5*3)] = 168 (total) – 78 (work and commute) – 10.5 (training) = 79.5

79.5 hours of my life is taken up by my priorities (as of right now)

Sleep? I get around 6-7 a night, let’s round up to 7, that leaves me with 30.5 hours

Then there’s the miscellaneous stuff: food shopping (1 hour?), food prepping (4 hours/week)

At a bare minimum that leaves me with 25.5 hours a week to myself (3.6 hours a day)

I’ll be the first to say it’s not a lot, but it’s something. It’s enough for me to occasionally stay late at work, work longer on my side projects, or just sit around every so often and veg.

Maybe it scares you to put it all down on a piece of paper. But if you find yourself running out of hours, it’s time to trim the fat. That’s when you know you’re not being terribly efficient with your time and you need to seek help or try to get more bang for your buck.

Final Thoughts

Looking to trim the fat? Look in the following places:

  • Are you sitting on your ass too much watching tv?
  • Are you actually sleeping more than you should (yes, I know sleeping is important but be honest with yourself here)
  • Are your friends an emotional and time suck?
  • Are you just whining?

Do not be afraid to invest in something that will pay off in the long run, but requires a a lot of time in the short run. 

Maybe it’s harsh and maybe it’s selfish. But you really do need to take good care of yourself and set your goals and determine what you’re willing to do to achieve them. That is the meaning of sacrificing for your goals and long term dreams in this day and age.

Till next time!

 

Leave a Reply

