When quitting looks enticing…

I left my coach maybe 5 or 6 months ago. At some point there was a need to accept responsibility for my successes and failures (along with quite a few personal situations going on). I don’t talk about this much. It’s a little bit of a sad spot for me.

BUT back to the topic at hand. My more experienced powerlifting friends long told me “there comes a time when you’re going to have to scrape for every pound. It’s going to suck and it’s going to get hard, and that’s when you’re going to have to make your decisions.”

God I hate it when other people are right.

My bench has stalled (and gone somewhat backward) over the last year. Partly due to tendonitis resulting in chronic, persistent, pain. Likely combined with me trying to figure out “what works” training wise. It has, without a doubt been the most frustrating year. I went from making phenomenal PRs almost on a monthly basis to plateauing, going backwards, making some headway, and repeating the whole thing all over again. Such, I would say is the hard reality of what happens when you reach the end of your glorious n00b gains. So what’s a girl to do?

Train. Fucking. Harder.

In reality, this applies to all of life. I’ve been a career graphic designer for almost 10 years. I’ve executed some wildly successful projects, had some fumbles, executed some not-so-stellar projects. I’ve even had to step away from designing for a shot period of time (i have a business background) to go into banking. The point being, if you ever gave up on what you truly loved, you would never get anywhere.

So I suggest you get your head out of your ass. And find something in your life you haven’t given up on when it got hard (if you don’t have one of those that’s sad) and remember what that was like. And remember you are lucky, you are fortunate to have a passion. There are plenty of people that are DOA from the neck up.

Go back to what you know. Try it again. And again. And again. Try different permutations, try different rep and set ranges, different auxiliary work. The key word here is try.

I won’t lie. It can suck. It can be mentally taxing. But I promise you it’s worth it.

Leave a Reply

