This year has been a whirlwind (From January to May)

First off, you should know I’m awful bout blogging. I don’t know what it is. Possibly because I am a graphic designer and therefore spend my whole day sitting in front of computers… the last thing I feel like doing some days is sitting in front of yet another computer. But let’s put that aside for now and make some sort of actual attempt at this.

RUM was without a doubt the most amazing experience I could have asked for. I’ve never been in a room full of… ridiculously strong people before. I got to meet some of the people I read so damn much about on powerliftingwatch AND I met my boyfriend there 🙂

HOWEVER, I was less than thrilled with my performance. I went 7/9:

  • SQ: 225/243/248 – Redlighted for depth
  • BCH: 154/170/170 – Miss off the chest
  • DL: 314/335/352

Took a 22 lbs PR on my deadlift but needless to say still not satisfied. If you’re interested you can see it here:

Since then I’ve been working on a few things.

My training partner brought to my attention my stupidly slow bench negative. It’s been a problem for a while, becoming more problematic as the weights go up. I found my lats starting fighting for space with my triceps on my way down making it a really awkward motion at the bottom. Couple changes:

  • My coach suggested widening my grip which has definitely helped some.
  • My boyfriend told me to hit some more chest supported rows to give me a better base.
  • Concentrate a little more on my lats on the way down (yes this should be common sense buut if you know me you’ll know I’ve been benching for maybe a little over a year with absolutely zero instruction when I started haha)
  • Increased db work to build up some chest strength

Seem to be trucking right along.

My squat has been probably my biggest project off season. I ran a modified smlov jr program for it a couple of weeks ago which gave birth to a beautiful 20lb PR

265. PR!

A post shared by Sin Leung (@sinjatakespics) on

Couple notable changes here:

  • Wider stance
  • Super ab work during the week – compliments of boyfriend
  • Head neutral, tucking in chin
  • Opening up hand placement

On the laundry list is to bring up hamstrings some, fiddling less with the bar at the set up.

I had a very nasty strained groin last year around March, which resulted in my effectively not squatting or barely squatting until around September. This has been an incredibly humbling and frustrating experience. Nevertheless I am slowly finding what works for me and sticking with it. Sometimes I think mental strength is without a doubt, the toughest thing about this sport).

So I’m writing this as I’m getting ready to compete in a few months again, looking to see what kinds of improvements I’ve made and chasing a few goals. Let’s keep in touch a little more often 🙂

Leave a Reply

